Olson Campus Center

Contact us

Chenelle Boatswain
Assistant to the President & Director of Board Relations

Board of Directors
and Foundation Board of Trustees 


Board of Directors

The Luther Seminary Board of Directors is the governing body of the seminary. Pastors and lay leaders from across the country provide leadership in establishing policies and priorities.

Members on the board of directors are elected by the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) Church Council as well as by the seminary's supporting synods in ELCA regions 1 and 3.


Chair: Gus Blanchard
Vice Chair: Jim Harrison
Secretary: Beth Lewis
Treasurer: Ann Christ


Committee Chairs

David Larson, Academic Affairs Committee
Jon Anderson, Student Affairs Committee
Don Bottemiller, Finance & Administration
Bonnie Raquet, Seminary Relations Committee
Mark Gelle, Investment Committee 

Representing ELCA Region 1

Representing ELCA Region 3

  Region 1

The Rev. Jessica Crist
Red Lodge, MT

  Region 3
The Rev. Jon Anderson
Redwood Falls, MN


The Rev. Alison Shane
Parish Pastor
Poulsbo, WA

3A Western
North Dakota 
Murray Sagsveen, Esq.
Synod Attorney
Bismarck, ND
1D Eastern Washington-

The Rev. Ladd Bjorneby
Church Relations Pastor
Lutheran Community Services 
Spokane Valley, WA

3D Northwest Minnesota 

Don Bottemiller
Retired CEO Homecrest Industries
Wadena, MN

1E Oregon

The Rev. Chris Kramer
Pastor, Director Youth Ministry
Bend, OR

3E Northeast Minnesota  Paul Jacobson
Musician/ Composer
St. Paul, MN
1F Montana Ann Christ
Red Lodge, MT
3F Southwest Minnesota

David Anfinson, CPA
Partner Anfinson, Riley & Thompson
Willmar, MN

      3G Minneapolis

Timothy Maudlin
Venture Capitalist
Eden Prairie, MN 

      3H St. Paul

Claire Chang
Senior Program Officer
Blue Cross Blue Shield of MN Foundation
St. Paul, MN

      3I Southeast Minnesota

Dr. David Larson
Retired Physician
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Representatives Appointed by the ELCA Church Council

Gus Blanchard
Retired CEO
Deluxe Corporation
Mahtomedi, MN

Bonnie Raquet, Esq. (ex officio)
Retired Executive Vice President
Cargill, Inc.
Williamsburg, VA

Jim Harrison
Consulting Partner
The James Company
Eden Prairie, MN

The Rev. Robin Steinke, Ph.D. (ex officio)
Luther Seminary
St. Paul, MN
Beth Lewis
President & CEO
Augsburg Fortress
Minneapolis, MN


Foundation Board of Trustees

The Luther Seminary Board of Trustees provides key leadership in developing the financial support necessary to fulfill the seminary's mission.


Chair: Bonnie Raquet
Vice Chair: Tom Holtz
Secretary: J. Michael Schwartz
Treasurer: Michael Morrow


Heidi Droegemueller
Vice President for Seminary Relations
Executive Director of the Luther Seminary Foundation


Roger Eggen
Retired Biomedical Engineer
Founder, Analytical Instruments, LLC
Plymouth, MN

Michael Morrow
Vice President for Finance & Administration
Luther Seminary
St. Paul, MN

John Haugo
Retired CEO/Chairman
SearchAmerica, Inc.
Hudson, WI

Bonnie Raquet, Esq.
Retired Executive Vice President
Cargill, Inc.
Williamsburg, VA

David Hayes, Esq.
Fenwick and West LLP
Half Moon Bay, CA

David Rutlen
Professor of Medicine & Director of Cardiovascular Medicine
University of Arkansas
Little Rock, AR

Marge Hegge, Ph.D.
Retired Professor of Nursing
South Dakota State University
Renner, SD

J. Michael Schwartz, Esq.
Retired Attorney
Lockridge, Grindal & Nauen
Minneapolis, MN

Tom Holtz
Executive Vice President
CB Richard Ellis
Minneapolis, MN

Joyce Thompsen, Ph.D.
Thompsen Consulting
Altadena, CA