Skip to content
Students sitting outside Bockman

Story Magazine

Second Quarter 2005

Commencement 2005

ELCA Presiding Bishop Mark Hanson gave the commencement address.

Luther Seminary Sends Out Newest Leaders for Mission

Luther Seminary conferred degrees on 159 newly prepared servant-leaders of the church at its 136th Commencement, May 22, at Central Lutheran Church, Minneapolis. Luther Seminary conferred two certificates, 52 Master of Arts degrees, five Master of Sacred Music degrees, 84 Master of Divinity degrees, eight Doctor of Ministry degrees, four Master of Theology degrees, and four Doctor of Philosophy degrees. ELCA Presiding Bishop Mark Hanson gave the commencement address. He welcomed the class of 2005 as colleagues in ministry, urged them in their vocations, and presented ministry as "a gift of the Holy Spirit."

Awards for Academic Excellence

Each year several awards for excellence are given to graduating students. The awards given this year are: The Graduate Preaching Fellowship: Mark Williamson The John Milton Prize in Old Testament: Erik Gronberg The G.M. and Minnie Bruce Award in New Testament: Kendra Mohn The A.E. Hanson Prizes in Homiletics: David LaMar, Andrea Hinderaker, Jo Quanbeck, Edward Daniel Ruen Luther Seminary Stewardship Council Award: Nathan Aaseng